Frequently Asked Questions

“The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing.” –Albert Einstein

Getting Started

Create an album, add others to the album, add photos from your photo library, then swipe right on any photo you wish to share. It’ll appear on all album members’ devices.

TripUp uses your contacts to find other users. Once found, they’ll appear when you select users to add to an album. You can also get them to share their profile link with you if you prefer to not give the app access to your contacts.

Push down on the photo you wish to delete, then drag the photo to the trash can. Confirm the action in the dialog box.

If it’s a photo you added, then yes. Otherwise, no.

Stars are per user and synced across only your devices.

Of course! Push down on the photo you wish to export or share, then drag the photo to the save or share icon respectively. Confirm the action in the dialog box.

Most likely because the original quality photo has yet to be downloaded. This can happen if the owner of the photo has yet to finish uploading the original quality or if there’s an issue with your network connection.

Most likely because the original quality photo has yet to be downloaded. This can happen if the owner of the photo has yet to finish uploading the original quality or if there’s an issue with your network connection.

Account

Long and complex passwords are a good thing 🙂. In general, people are bad with coming up with passwords and tend to reuse the same password (or some variant of it) again and again. To prevent this, TripUp creates a randomly generated password for you and saves it to your iCloud Keychain. It’s long so as to prevent you from memorising and using it for other accounts. Power users may opt to remove the password from their iCloud Keychain and store it in a password manager if they prefer.

Unfortunately not. TripUp is designed to be end-to-end encrypted, which means we don’t store your password or have access to your account data – even for account recovery purposes. This is a design feature, not a bug! If you’ve lost access to your account please contact us to delete it and create a new one.

Technical

TripUp uses PGP encryption to protect your data. All keys are generated and used client side, so the TripUp server (and company) can never access your data. In the event of a leak, hack or government request, user data will remain private. This differentiates TripUp from other private photo storage providers, which may employ strong encryption but keep the keys stored server side. A blog post delving into the details of our security model will be released shortly, but you can read more about PGP from the ProtonMail team (in fact, TripUp uses the same encryption library that ProtonMail uses): https://protonmail.com/blog/what-is-pgp-encryption/

Nope. When you sign up for TripUp, we store a hash (SHA-256) of your login. Strong hashes like SHA-256 are impossible to reverse so if a database leak ever occurs, your privacy is preserved. When another user gives access to their contacts, TripUp hashes all their contacts then sends them to the server, which returns the set of successfully found matches. The users’ hashed contacts are not stored on our servers and used only for this operation.

It’ll come when it comes 😉. Reach out to us to let us know which devices you want supported so we can prioritise accordingly. Our API was designed to be cross-platform, so you’ll definitely be able to access all your photos from future devices!

We’re a small entity right now with no street cred 🙁. Releasing TripUp as an open source application would allow any well funded entity with a larger marketing budget to rebrand and beat us in the marketplace, forcing us to close shop. We understand the importance of transparency and the benefits of open source and it’s something we’d like to do in the future though – help us build our street cred by downloading and spreading the word on TripUp!